Latest News

Local Government Minister to name new NSWMA Board

Local Government Minister Noel Arscott has announced that a new Board of Directors is to be installed at the National Solid Waste Management Authority (NSWMA).


In the wake of media reports that a number of Board members have resigned, in the midst of the smoke nuisance at Riverton Disposal Site, and the decision not to renew the contract of former Executive Director of the Agency, Jennifer Edwards, the Minister announced that 7 of the 11 members have departed the Board. This means that the Board has no quorum which would allow it to meet or take decisions.

“It is now my task to seek new membership to reconstitute the Board of the NSWMA, and I am grateful for a number of expressions of interest that I have already received. I intend in short order to propose a new Board to Cabinet for approval, so that the Agency can have the certainty of having a Board of Directors, who in turn can make the necessary decisions about the direction and executive complement of the Agency.” The Minister also stated that the Board will among other things, be responsible for considering divestment options in relation to the Riverton Disposal Site.